European Championship

The European Championship is a PDC Major tournament and was first played in 2008.
It is played on the Continent as the PDC wants to give European players who are not in the Top 16 of the Order of Merit and don´t have the chance to take part in the British Pro Tour circuit a chance to take part in a Major tournament.
32 players take part in the tournament.

How to qualify is not easy to understand and the way changed till now every year. In 2010 it will be like this: As in most Major tournaments the Top 16 of the Order will take part. Qualified as well are the Top eight of the European Order of Merit. The last eight players come over the Players Championship Order of Merit. In 2014 the top 16 of the PDC Order of Merit qualify alongside with the top 8 UK or non European players of the Pro Tour Order of Merit plus seven non Uk players from thr Pro Tour Order of Merit plus one Scandinavian qualifier. In 2016 the European Tour Order of Merit was introduced for which all European Tour events count. From then the participants in the European Championship are the top 32 of the European Tour Order of Merit.
All Pro Tour events organised by the PDC Europe count to the European Order of Merit.

The tournament was first played over three days - on Friday the first round is played with twice eight matches in two session, on Saturday the eight second round matches take place in two sessions and on Sunday quarterfinals, semifinals and the final will take place. By now the tournament is played over four days - startind on Thrusday evening with the first round. On Friday afternoon the first round is pplayed to the end, on Friday night the second round begins. Saturday night the second round concludes. On Saturday the tournament is played in two sessions to the end.
The tournament is played in Legs - first round best of 11, second round and quarterfinals best of 19, semifinals and final best of 21.

The first year the tournament was played in Frankfurt in Germany, the second year in Hoofdorp in Holland, in the third year it returns to Germany to Dinslaken. 2011 it is played in Düsseldorf. In 2013 and 2014 it moved to Mühlheim. 2015 it for the first time took place in Hasselt in Belgium. 2018 the tournament moves to Dortmund, 2019 to Goettingen. 2020 it took place despite the Corona pandemic in Oberhausen, Germany, and in 2021 it will playey in Salzburg, Austria, after a shortened European Tour season with only two events.
The tournament will be televised by ITV 4 and in Germany by Sport1.

2008Phil Taylor11:5Adrian Lewis
2009Phil Taylor11:3Steve Beaton
2010Phil Taylor11:1Wayne Jones
2011Phil Taylor11:8Adrian Lewis
2012Simon Whitlock11:5Wes Newton
2013Adrian Lewis11:6Simon Whitlock
2014Michael van Gerwen11:4Terry Jenkins
2015Michael van Gerwen11:10Gary Anderson
2016Michael van Gerwen11:1Mensur Suljovic
2017Michael van Gerwen11:7Rob Cross
2018James Wade11:8Simon Whitlock
2019Rob Cross11:6Gerwyn Price
2020Peter Wright11:4James Wade
2021Rob Cross11:8Michael van Gerwen

Price Money
WinnerRunner-UpSemifinalsQuarterfinalsLast 16Last 32
201250 000 Pound20 000 Pound10 000 Pound7500 Pound5000 Pound2500 Pound
201455 000 Pound25 000 Pound12 500 Pound7500 Pound5000 Pound3000 Pound
201565 000 Pound35 000 Pound17 000 Pound11 500 Pound7000 Pound4000 Pound
2016/17/18100 000 Pound40 000 Pound20 000 Pound15 000 Pound10 000 Pound5000 Pound
2019/20/21120 000 Pound60 000 Pound32 000 Pound20 000 Pound10 000 Pound6000 Pound

Contact © Global Darts. All Rights Reserved. Impressum