World Grand Prix

The World Grand Prix was first hold in 1998 by the PDC.
Two years it was played in Rochester, Kent, then moved for one year to Rosslare in Ireland. Since 2001 it takes place in the Citywest hotel in Dublin. Since 2021 it is played in the Morningside Arena in Leicester-
From the beginning the tournament was played in October.

As the venue the sponsor changed several times over the years. First it was sponsored by the betting company Paddy Power, then by Sky bet, 2008 and 2009 by Sky Poker and 2010 by the online betting company Bogdog. 2019 the tournament is sponsered by Boyle Sports.

The dominating player of the tournament was Phil Taylor who won the title eight times though he as well was eliminated three times from the tournament first round.

The tournament is the only PDC tournament played in Double-In/Double-Out. With exception of the first year the format is sets and the first round matches are with Best of Three a very short format and often have a surprise in store. In the next rounds the format gets longer and longer: Best of Five Sets in Round Two, Best of Seven in the Quarterfinals, Best of Nine in the Semis and Best of Eleven in the Final.

Qualified for the tournament are the top 16 of the PDC Order of Merit. Added are the top four Irish (Republic and/or Northern Ireland) players of the Pro Tour Order of Merit and the Top 12 of the Pro Tour Order of Merit not otherwise already qualified. The four places for Irish players were dropped and now the top 16 of the Pro Tour Order of Merit join the top 16 of the Order of Merit in the event.

The tournament is televised by Sky Sport.

1998Phil Taylor13:8 (legs)Rod Harrington
1999Phil Taylor6:1Shayne Burgess
2000Phil Taylor6:1Shayne Burgess
2001Alan Warriner8:2Roland Scholten
2002Phil Taylor7:3John Part
2003Phil Taylor7:2John Part
2004Colin Lloyd7:3Alan Warriner
2005Phil Taylor7:1Colin Lloyd
2006Phil Taylor7:4Terry Jenkins
2007James Wade6:3Terry Jenkins
2008Phil Taylor6:2Raymond van Barneveld
2009Phil Taylor6:3Raymond van Barneveld
2010James Wade6:3Adrian Lewis
2011Phil Taylor6:3Brendan Dolan
2012Michael van Gerwen6:4Mervyn King
2013Phil Taylor6:0Dave Chisnall
2014Michael van Gerwen5:3James Wade
2015Robert Thornton5:4Michael van Gerwen
2016Michael van Gerwen5:2Gary Anderson
2017Daryl Gurney5:4Simon Whitlock
2018Michael van Gerwen5:2Peter Wright
2019Michael van Gerwen5:2Dave Chisnall
2020Gerwyn Price5:2Mike van Duijvenbode
2021Jonny Clayton5:1Gerwyn Price
2022Michael van Gerwen5:3Nathan Aspinall

Price Money
WinnerRunner-UpSemifinalsQuarterfinalsLast 16Last 32
2012100 000 Pound40 000 Pound20 000 Pound12 500 Pound7000 Pound4000 Pound
2014,2015100 000 Pound45 000 Pound23 500 Pound15 000 Pound8500 Pound5000 Pound
2016,2017100 000 Pound45 000 Pound23 500 Pound15 000 Pound8500 Pound5000 Pound
2019/20/21110 000 Pound50 000 Pound25 000 Pound16 000 Pound10 000 Pound6000 Pound
2022120 000 Pound60 000 Pound40 000 Pound25 000 Pound15 000 Pound7500 Pound


Contact © Global Darts. All Rights Reserved. Impressum