Lennon and Dragt claim first Tour Cards of 2024 Q Schools

Report, Rankings after Day 1

Steve Lennon and Martijn Dragt became the first players to win PDC Tour Cards at the 2024 Qualifying Schools on Thursday.

Former World Cup of Darts runner-up Lennon was victorious at UK Q School in Milton Keynes, while Dragt took the first card at European Q School in Kalkar, Germany.

Lennon, who narrowly lost his Tour Card following the 2023/24 World Darts Championship, won it back at the first time of asking thanks to a succession of strong displays. The Irishman kicked off the day with a 101.42 average in a 6-2 win over Leighton Bennett, before seeing off Shaun Wilkinson and Brett Claydon to reach the last 16. There, he came through a dramatic encounter with Matthew Dennant, surviving seven match darts to reach the quarter-finals where he overcame Justin Hood. Lennon defeated George Killington 6-2 in the semi-finals before coming back from 4-3 down to beat Borland 6-4 and seal his place back on the professional circuit.

Meanwhile, Dragt defeated former Tour Card Holders Jesus Noguera, Rusty-Jake Rodriguez and Mario Vandenbogaerde on his way to the final. An all-Dutch final saw Chris Landman take a 5-2 lead, before Dragt won four successive legs to win a Tour Card for the first time.

Friday will offer a further chance for players to win Tour Cards, with play commencing at 1300 CET in Kalkar and 1200 GMT in Milton Keynes. In addition to the daily Tour Card winners, a further 23 Tour Cards will be awarded on a pro-rata basis to players from the respective UK/European Qualifying School Final Stage Orders of Merit following Day Four - 13 in Europe, and 10 in the UK.

UK Qualifying School Order of Merit after first day
RankName PointsLeg-DiffLegs Won
1William Borland51340
2George Killington41132
3Andy Boulton4232
4Justin Hood31227
5Patrick Lynskey 31025
6Cameron Crabtree3729
7Shane McGuirk3427
8Matthew Dennant21323
9Justin Smith21223
10Ashley Coleman2722
11Jamess Hurrell2622
12Thomas Lovely2523
13Darren Armstrong2519
13Jamie Atkins2423
15Colin Osborne2319
16Scott Taylor1817
17Jim McEwan1717
18Seane Fisher1517
19Carl Wilson1417
20Lee Cocks1415
21Nick Fullwell1317
22Llew Bevan1214
23Conan Whitehead1117
24Richie Burnett1116
25Brett Claydon1114
26Christopher Harvey1114
27Kevin Leadenham1114
28Joe Croft1014
29Kevin Bruness009
30Jarred Cole0-113
31Jonathan Kavanagh-31213

European Qualifying School Order of Merit after first day
RankName PointsLeg-DiffLegs won
1Chris Landman51741
2Mario Vandenbogaerde163435
3Christian Kist4833
4Lukas Wenig31229
5Tomas Houdek 3929
6Darius Labanauskas3926
7Wesley Plaisier3925
8Radek Szaganski21123
9Stefan Schroder2722
10Franz Roetzsch2721
11Dragutin Horvat2620
12Jules van Dongen2620
13Laurens Admiraal2522
13Rusty-Jake Rodriguez2522
15Haupai Puha2220
16Thibault Tricole1715
17Jitse van der Wal1617
18Mareno Michels1517
19Ron Meulenkamp1516
20Liam Maendl-Lawrance1515
21Simeon Heinz1414
22Jelle Klaasen1317
23Ryuta Arihara1316
24Dennie Olde Kalter1314
25John Michael1314
26Christopher Toonders1317
27Benjamin Reus1316
28Christian Goedl1316
29Bradley Roes1113
30Ricardo Perez-Ibarra1-114
31Jody Tobback1-43

Highlighted are the places for a Tour Card by the Ranking

Contact © Global Darts. All Rights Reserved. Impressum